Brigitte Gedek Science Prize for Mycotoxin Research

The Society for Mycotoxin Research is pleased to open the call for nominations for the Brigitte Gedek Science Prize 2023

The **Brigitte Gedek Science Prize** is awarded by the **Society for Mycotoxin Research** for outstanding scientific achievements in the area of mycotoxicology on a biennial basis since 2000, with the generous support from Prof. Dr. Brigitte Gedek (formerly Professor for Bacteriology and Mycology at the Veterinary Faculty of the Ludwig-Maximilians University, Munich, Germany).

The Brigitte Gedek Science Prize is awarded for an outstanding scientific achievment (PhD thesis or publication, published within the last 5 years) by a single scientist (first author or corresponding author) or a group of scientists. The prize is <u>not</u> intended as lifetime achievement award.

The award is endowed with **10,000 Euro**, further emphasizing the outstanding importance of this honour in the field of life sciences.

The Brigitte Gedek Science Prize will be awarded during the **44th Mycotoxin Workshop** in **Celle/Hannover**.

The following documents are required for nomination, which must be made by a member of the Society for Mycotoxin Research (unsolicited applications or self applications are not accepted)

- Letter of recommendation
- Short description of the candidate's research work and main findings (one page)
- The work to be awarded (e.g. PhD thesis, scientific publication within the last 5 years)
- Candidates curriculum vitae including prizes/honours

For additional information please contact Prof. Madeleine Plötz (<u>madeleine.ploetz@tiho-hannover.de</u>), president of the Society for Mycotoxin Research.

Please submit your electronic nomination of candidates as a single PDF-file until **April 3rd 2023** (deadline of application) to <u>madeleine.ploetz@tiho-hannover.de</u>

Former winners of the Brigitte Gedek Science Prize

- 2020/21 Annika Jagels (Münster, Germany) and Benedikt Warth (Vienna, Austria)
- 2018 Ludwig Niessen (Weihenstephan, Germany) and Ricardo Assunção (Lisbon, Portugal)
- 2016 Friederike Meyer-Wolfarth (Braunschweig, Germany)
- 2014 Annie Pfohl-Leszkovicz (Toulouse, France) and Madeleine Gross (Giessen, Germany)
- 2010 Tobias Polte (Leipzig, Germany)
- 2008 Wageha Awad (Vienna, Austria) and Markus Schmidt-Heydt (Karlsruhe, Germany)
- 2006 Franz Berthiller (Tulln, Austria)
- 2004 Kristian Fog Nielsen (Lyngby, Denmark) and Karsten Meyer (Weihenstephan, Germany)
- 2002 Eckhardt Johanning (New York, USA) and Uwe Lauber (Stuttgart, Germany)
- 2000 Michael Gekle (Würzburg, Germany)